The Office of Professional Standards consists of Internal Affairs, Background Investigations, and Recruiting. This unit is assigned to the Personnel Services Division and has 17 employees.

The Professional Standards Commander, Lt. Amanda Cain, can be reached at 770.513.5060 or by email at Amanda.Cain@gwinnettcounty.com

The Internal Affairs Section Supervisor, Sergeant Charles Barnett, can be reached at 770.513.5504 or by email at Charles.Barnett@gwinnettcounty.com.

The Backgrounds Section Supervisor, Sergeant Mario Depaoli, can be reached at 770.513.5502 or by email at Mario.Depaoli@gwinnettcounty.com

There are four investigators assigned to work Internal Affairs cases:

Investigator Heather Stockton: 770.513.5503 • Heather.Stockton@gwinnettcounty.com
Investigator Matthew Williamson: 770.513.5505 • Matthew.Williamson@gwinnettcounty.com
Investigator Seth Bailey: 770.513.5511 • Seth.Bailey@gwinnettcounty.com
Corporal Derek Herrera: 770.513.5507 • Derek.Herrera@gwinnettcounty.com
Internal Affairs Staff assistant Angela Jackson: 770.513.5500 • Angela.Jackson@gwinnettcounty.com

The department takes all allegations of employee misconduct very seriously. If you believe an employee acted inappropriately or if you have a question regarding department policy or procedures, contact any Internal Affairs Investigator by e-mail or at 770.513.5500. Procedures for filing an employee-related complaint or commendations are posted at each precinct. For a copy of this procedure, click here.


Recruiting & Backgrounds
Police Officer applicants Corporal Michael Duncan 770.513.5512
Michael.Duncan@gwinnettcounty.com

Corporal Robert Whitehead 770.513.5518
Robert.Whitehead@gwinnettcounty.com

Corporal Dennis Hennelly 770.513.5514
Dennis.Hennelly@gwinnettcounty.com

Officer Tina Landry 770.513.5517
Tina.Landry@gwinnettcounty.com

Officer Joshua J. Smith 770.513.5516
Joshua.J.Smith@gwinnettcounty.com

Officer Rodgie Leggett
Rodgie.leggett@gwinnettcounty.com

Civilian applicants Cathy Hale 770.513.5528
Cathy.Hale@gwinnettcounty.com

  Joanne Sterling 770.513.5529
Joanne.Sterling@gwinnettcounty.com

Recruiting Officer Eric Rooks 770.513.5513
William.Rooks@gwinnettcounty.com