Skip to content

Gwinnett Historical Restoration & Preservation Board

The Historical Restoration and Preservation Board was established in 1973 by County Ordinance.  The Board consists of five members.  One member is appointed from each commission district and one is appointed by the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

  • The term of office for each member is concurrent with the term of office for the commissioner from whose district the member is appointed
  • The county historian shall be appointed by the chief judge of the Superior Court of Gwinnett County to serve in an advisory capacity, and such historian shall be an ex-officio member of the historical restoration and preservation board
  • Members serve in non-paying volunteer positions


Meetings are held once per quarter on the third Monday of the month (February, May, August, and November) at 10:00am. The locations of the meetings change periodically and can be viewed here.

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes.


  • Members must be residents of Gwinnett County and, if appointed by a district commissioner, must be a resident of that commission district

Responsibilities / Powers

Responsibilities/Powers are listed in detail in Municipal Code. Please click here to visit Municode (Part II, Chapter 58, Article II, Sec 58-26).

Click here for more information on the Historical Restoration and Preservation Board.



Catherine Long, 770.814.4920

Active Members

Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
Chairman's Appointment Phyllis Davis 12/31/2020
District 1 Appointment Vice Chairperson Jim Nitkowski 12/31/2020
District 2 Appointment Chairperson Hugh Wilkerson 12/31/2018
District 3 Appointment Chris Jenkins 12/31/2020
District 4 Appointment Ben Satterfield 12/31/2018
Chief Judge, Superior Court of Gwinnett County Marvin Nash Worthy County Historian