Skip to content

Merit Board

The Merit Board was established in 1969 by the Gwinnett County Merit System Act.  The Board consists of five members, four to be selected by the district commissioners and one who is a classified employee of the County, and who is elected by vote of the County's classified employees.

  • At the initial meeting each year, a chairman and vice-chairman will be selected from the members
  • Members serve four-year terms
  • Each member of the board shall be paid a per diem rate to be established by the Board of Commissioners for time actually devoted to the business of the board.  The current per diem rate is $150 per member per meeting/hearing of less than 4 hours and $250 per member per meeting/member of four hours or more


Meetings/Hearings are scheduled based on the current grievance activity, and are advertised to the public prior to the scheduled meeting date.  Additional meetings are scheduled as needed.  Meetings/Hearings are held at the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center Auditorium and/ or Conference Center located at 75 Langley Drive Lawrenceville, GA 30046.

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes.


The four members selected by the district commissioners must meet the following qualifications: 

  • Must be a resident of the appointing Commission district
  • Must be a resident of Gwinnett County for two or more years
  • Not currently holding an elected office
  • Not been in political office of Gwinnett County during the 12 months preceding appointment
  • Not currently be a salaried employee of Gwinnett County

Responsibilities / Powers

  • To represent the interest of the public in the improvement of personnel administration and selection of qualified personnel
  • To recommend to the Board of Commissioners for the Board's approval or rejection rules, regulations and plans including subsequent deletions and amendments for the administration of the Merit System Act
  • After the Board of Commissioners' approval, to publish the content of the rules and their modifications for public distribution and to give immediate notice to all appointing authorities affected
  • To act as an independent body to hear and determine appeals by merit system employees which involve involuntary terminations, suspensions and involuntary demotions, by ruling on appeals and complaints respecting other official recommendations of the Executive Secretary

Active Members

Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
District 1 Appointment Jason Thompson 12/31/2020
District 2 Appointment Chairperson Michael C. Murphy 12/31/2018
District 3 Appointment Diane Krause 12/31/2020
District 4 Appointment Myron Bullock 12/31/2018
Employee Representative Michael Efeyini 12/31/2021