Special Operations Section

The Special Operations Section is a support services section assigned to the Uniform Division and is made up of the following 11 specialized units under the command of Major J.T. Strickland.

The Gwinnett County Police SWAT provides a highly trained and skilled tactical team as a resource for the county in handling critical incidents in order to reduce the risk of injury or loss of life to citizens, police officers, and suspects. Currently the Gwinnett County Police SWAT Team is a collateral team (part time) with most members being assigned to other full time duties within the Police Department when not on SWAT calls or in training.

The Hazardous Device Unit (HDU) is the bomb squad for the department. The unit responds to suspicious packages and explosive devices.   

K-9 Unit has six police canine teams that provide support to the Uniform and Criminal Investigations Divisions. Their primary duties include tracking lost or missing persons, tracking wanted persons, finding evidence or lost property, conducting building searches, serving high risk warrants and locating illegal narcotics. In addition the unit also has a K-9 Team trained to detect explosive materials and provides support to the department's HDU (Hazardous Device) Unit.

The Motorcycle (Motors) Unit is responsible for the reduction of motor vehicle accidents through the concentrated enforcement of Georgia traffic laws. Other duties include providing additional police presence during special events, assisting with traffic control at serious incidents, providing executive protection to visiting dignitaries and providing support to the five police districts by investigating traffic complaints.

The Gwinnett County Police Department Honor Guard is the ceremonial unit of the Department. Through the use of specialized training, equipment, and distinctive uniforms, the Honor Guard is responsible for the planning, coordination, and conduct of ceremonial activities involving the Department, funerals for members of the Department, and other details/events where the presence of the Honor Guard would serve the best interests of the Department.

The Accident Investigation Unit is responsible for investigation of all hit and run, fatal, and life threatening injury motor vehicle accidents. The Unit maintains a telephone hotline that citizens may use to provide investigators with information about hit and run accidents while remaining anonymous if so desired.

The DUI Task Force is primarily responsible for preventing serious injury or fatal motor vehicle accidents by locating and apprehending drivers who choose to operate their motor vehicles while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or drugs. The officers assigned to this unit also devote a considerable amount of their time enforcing other traffic laws, that when violated, frequently result in motor vehicle accidents.

The Quality of Life Unit is responsible for informing and educating the public and enforcing county ordinances pertaining to property maintenance, zoning, solid waste, occupational tax certificates (business license), and signs. This unit has civilian and sworn officers who respond to citizen complaints while patrolling their geographically assigned areas.

Police Honor GuardCrime Prevention Unit - Officers that are assigned to individual precincts are primarily responsible for promoting citizen participation in the reduction and prevention of crime through education and active support as well as providing educational and safety-related programs based on various community needs. For more information, please visit the webpage or contact your local police precinct to speak with your Crime Prevention officer.

The Crime Free Multi-Housing (CFMHU) Programs goal is to reduce the number of violent crimes and police calls-for-service in apartment properties. The program is partly funded through Justice Assistance Grants and is endorsed by the Atlanta Apartment Association. This program is solution-oriented and designed to be easy, yet very effective in reducing the incidence of crime on rental property. The program uses a three-part approach, which ensures the crime prevention goal while maintaining a tenant-friendly approach.
The Aviation Unit is primarily responsible for providing direct aerial support to uniform patrol officers responding to criminal activity, and general support to all other divisions within Gwinnett County Government. The Aviation Unit is based at Briscoe Field/Gwinnett County Airport.


Main Telephone: Staff Assistant Mary Ellen Ottaway 678.442.5600
Commander: Major J.T. Strickland
John.Strickland@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5651
Asst. Commander: Lieutenant G. Adams
SWAT, HDU
Greg.Adams@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5662
Asst. Commander: Lieutenant D.J. Merchant
K9, Motors, Honor Guard Unit
Donald.Merchant@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5652
Asst. Commander: Lieutenant C.A. Smith
AIU, DUI
Chris.Smith@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5619
Asst. Commander: Lieutenant J. Rozier
Quality of Life Unit, Crime Prevention, Crime Free Multi-Housing
Jason.Rozier@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5008
Manager: Lou Gregoire
Aviation
Lou.Gregoire@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5850
SWAT  
Sergeant B. Reavis
Bryan.Reavis@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5616
HDU  
Sergeant R. Coleman
Rusty.Coleman@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5817
K-9 Unit  
Sergeant B.S. Finnegan
Botsford.Finnegan@gwinnettcounty.com
Sergeant B. Doan
Brian.Doan@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5673

678.442.5673
Motors  
Sergeant S.D. Barrett
Scott.Barrett@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5643
Honor Guard  
Sergeant Collin McClendon
Collin.McClendon@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5040
Accident Investigation Unit  
Sergeant S. Bozeman
Stuart.Bozeman@gwinnettcounty.com
Sergeant W. Barnhart
Wesley.Barnhart@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5621

678.442.5622
DUI  
Sergeant T. Sage
Tim.Sage@gwinnettcounty.com
Sergeant M. Blute
Michael.Blute@gwinnettcounty.com
678.442.5632

678.442.5631
Quality of Life Unit  
Sergeant: M. Marchese
Michael.Marchese@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5009
Code Enforcement Supervisor: K. Chassion
Kim.Chassion@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5010
Code Enforcement Supervisor: K. Colquitt
Keith.Colquitt@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5011
Code Enforcement Supervisor: R. Franklin
Randy.Franklin@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5012
Staff Assistant: Vanessa Pratt Vanessa.Pratt@gwinnettcounty.com 770.513.5024
Quality of Life/Code Enforcement Code Violation Hotline 770.513.5004
Quality of Life/Code Enforcement Main Number 770.513.5020
Crime Prevention  
Coordinator: Ofc. Aaren Dieffenbacher
aaren.dieffenbacher@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5119
Crime Free Multi-Housing  
Coordinator: P.O. Sr. H. Garcia-Central Precinct
Humberto.Garcia@gwinnettcounty.com
Cpl. D. Martinez-West Precinct
David.Martinez@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5116

678.442.6580
Aviation  
Lou Gregoire, Manager
Lou.Gregoire@gwinnettcounty.com
770.513.5850