Skip to content

Board of Commissioners begins new year with new members

The Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners has some new faces as the new year begins. On December 30, Chief Magistrate George F. Hutchinson III administered the oath of office to Commission Chairman Charlotte Nash, District 1 Commissioner Jace Brooks, and District 3 Commissioner-elect Tommy Hunter.

Nash served 18 months as chairman after winning a special election in March 2011. Unopposed in both the primary and the general election, she began a four-year term on January 1. Brooks was the only candidate to qualify for a special election to fill a vacancy in district 1, and took office in September. He had no opposition in the general election for a full four-year term, which began this January. After winning a contested primary, Hunter faced no opposition in November and also starts a four-year term this January.

Typically the Board holds official meetings the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 2:00pm. On those days, the Board conducts work sessions at 10:00am. The Board also holds a public hearing to consider zoning requests on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm. These meetings are open to the public and are held in the auditorium of the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center. For more information about your commissioners, including meeting schedules, agendas, and minutes, visit the Board of Commissioners webpage.