Skip to content

Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) Joint Technical Committee

The Committee was established jointly by the County and Cities during the development of the Intergovernmental Agreement related to the 2005 SPLOST Program. The Committee created for the 2005 SPLOST Program was continued by the Intergovernmental Agreement for the 2009 SPLOST Program. According to Article 13 of the 2008 SPLOST Intergovernmental Agreement:

  • The Committee members serve for a term determined by the County Administrator and the Manager of each City that is a party to the Intergovernmental Agreement.
  • Participation is voluntary and by appointment.  There is no compensation for serving on this Committee.


  • The Committee meets periodically, as needed, at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center, 75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046.
  • To provide updates on SPLOST funded projects, the Joint Technical Committee members meet at the same time and location as the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) Citizen Review Committee. 

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes.


  • The Committee members consist of County and City staff which are parties to the Intergovernmental Agreement.
  • No specific training is required; however, Committee members should be familiar with State Laws related to SPLOST.

Responsibilities / Powers

  • The Committee reviews the SPLOST Programs for issues including, but not limited to, category allocations of proceeds and compliance with the Resolutions which resulted in the call of such Referendum.
  • Twice per year, the Committee provides updates on SPLOST funded projects to the SPLOST Citizen Review Committee. 

Active Members

Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
Ex-Officio Member Maria Woods Director of Financial Services
Ex-Officio Member Susan Paul Financial Services Project Coordinator
Gwinnett Municipal Association Randy Meacham
Municipality Appointment Bryan Kerlin City of Buford
Municipality Appointment James Riker City of Duluth
Municipality Appointment Bill Johnsa City of Lilburn
Municipality Appointment Butch Sanders City of Snellville
Municipality Appointment Paul Radford City of Sugar Hill
Municipality Appointment Marty Allen City of Suwanee