Skip to content
About Us

The Gwinnett County Police Department is a CALEA accredited, full service police agency located in the northeast part of Metro Atlanta.  The Gwinnett County Police Department was unofficially formed in the 1930’s when county commissioners appointed one man to police the area.

Today, the Department has an authorized strength of 783 sworn officers supported by 280 civilian employees with the responsibility of providing law enforcement services to over 800,000 residents within an area of 437 square miles.  In addition to Police Headquarters in Lawrenceville, the Department has a training facility, a 911 call center, and five precincts.  The Gwinnett County Police Department handled approximately 730,000 incidents or calls for service in 2016.