Boards, Auth. and Committees

Merit Board

The Merit Board was established in 1969 by the Gwinnett County Merit System Act. The Board consists of five (5) members, four to be selected by the district commissioners and one who is a classified employee of the County and who is elected by vote of the County's classified employees.

  • At the initial meeting each year, a chairman and vice-chairman will be selected from the members
  • Each member of the Merit Board is paid $200 per meeting/hearing of less than 4 hours and $300 per meeting/member of four hours or more.
Members serve four-year terms.

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes

Meetings/Hearings are scheduled based on the current grievance activity, and are advertised to the public prior to the scheduled meeting date. Additional meetings are scheduled as needed. Meetings/Hearings are held at the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center Auditorium and/ or Conference Center located at 75 Langley Drive Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046.


If District Commissioner appointment, members must reside in the district in which they are appointed. The governing authority shall NOT appoint to said board as a member thereof any person who:

  • Has not been a resident of Gwinnett County for two or more years next preceding appointment to the board
  • Shall hold an elective or appointive office in federal, state, county, or municipal government, provided that prior appointment as a member of the board shall not disqualify a person from being reappointed thereto
  • Shall have held political office in Gwinnett County during the 12 months preceding his or her appointment to the board
Responsibilities / Powers
  • To represent the interest of the public in the improvement of personnel administration and selection of qualified personnel
  • To recommend to the Board of Commissioners for the Board's approval or rejection rules, regulations and plans including subsequent deletions and amendments for the administration of the Merit System Act
  • After the Board of Commissioners' approval, to publish the content of the rules and their modifications for public distribution and to give immediate notice to all appointing authorities affected
  • To act as an independent body to hear and determine appeals by merit system employees which involve involuntary terminations, suspensions and involuntary demotions, by ruling on appeals and complaints respecting other official recommendations of the Executive Secretary
Active Members
Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
District 1 Appointment Larry Cobb 12/31/2024
District 2 Appointment Stephen Goux 12/31/2026
District 3 Appointment Antonio Molina 12/31/2024
District 4 Appointment Michelle Anderson 12/31/2026
Employee Representative John Schaefer 02/01/2026