Recreation Authority

The Recreation Authority was established in 1975 by Georgia Law. The Authority consists of nine (9) members, two appointed by each District Commissioner and one appointed by the Chairwoman of the Board of Commissioners. A Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary/Treasurer are elected by the Authority. 

  • Members serve four-year terms concurrent with the term of the appointing Commissioner.  Vacancies are filled in the same manner as the original appointment for any unexpired term
  • The Secretary/Treasurer is not required to be an Authority member and does not have voting rights
  • The Authority shall advertise in the legal organ of Gwinnett County for at least once a week for the three weeks immediately preceding the week in which expires the term of office of any member of the Authority, the name of the member whose term will expire and the date such term expires. The Authority shall advertise in the legal organ of Gwinnett County for at least once a week for two weeks immediately following the week in which occurs a vacancy on the Authority the name of the member who has vacated his position on the Authority and the date such vacancy occurred. Such advertisement shall also give notice that interested persons may apply to the Board of Commissioners of Gwinnett County to request that consideration be given to them for appointment to the Authority

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes

Meetings are the second Thursday in February, April, June, August, October, and December. 

  • Members must be residents of Gwinnett County
  • No member of the Board of Commissioners may serve as a member

Listed in detail in Municipal Code. Please click here to visit Municode (Part I, Article II, Division 7). Click here for more information on the Recreation Authority.

Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
Chairwoman's Appointment Charlie Underwood 12/31/2020
District 1 Appointment Brad Alexander 12/31/2020
District 1 Appointment Gene Callaway 12/31/2020
District 2 Appointment Robert Daniels Jr. 12/31/2022
District 2 Appointment Kimberly Ulrich 12/31/2022
District 3 Appointment Chairperson Steve Flynt 12/31/2020
District 3 Appointment Glen Williams 12/31/2020
District 4 Appointment Loretta Mirandola 12/31/2022
District 4 Appointment Robin D. Kamara 12/31/2022