Menu Display

Boards, Auth. and Committees

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals was established September 18, 1985 by a County Ordinance and consists of five (5) members. One appointment is made by the Board of Commissioners Chairwoman and one appointed by each District Commissioner.

Members serve a one-year term.

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes

Generally, meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30pm at the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center Auditorium, 75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046. For detailed information on meetings, please click the blue button above.

  • Members must be a Gwinnett County resident
  • No member of the Zoning Board of Appeals shall simultaneously hold any employment or elected office within the Gwinnett County Government which is inconsistent with his or her duties on the Zoning Board of Appeals
  • One member of the Zoning Board of Appeals may be a member of the Planning Commission
Responsibilities / Powers
  • To consider and decide upon appeals and variances from the strict application of the Unified Development Ordinance
  • To hear appeals by any person aggrieved or by any official of the county affected
  • by any decision of the Director of the Department of Planning & Development
  • To hear and decide appeals when error has been alleged by the Director in the enforcement of the Unified Development Ordinance
  • To hear and decide exceptions to the Unified Development Ordinance
  • To authorize variances from terms of the Unified Development Ordinance
  • To reverse decisions or determinations and issue or revoke a building or other permit
Active Members
Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
Chairwoman's Appointment Jim Nash 02/28/2023
District 1 Appointment Chairman Paula Hastings 02/28/2023
District 2 Appointment Jason Graham 02/28/2023
District 3 Appointment Jeff Timler 02/28/2023
District 4 Appointment Vice Chairman Matt Peevy 02/28/2023