(Lawrenceville, Ga., Dec. 23, 2020) – Newly elected District 3 Commissioner Jasper Watkins III, a veteran and pharmacist, was sworn in today by Gwinnett Probate Judge Christopher Ballar to the Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners. District 3 encompasses Braselton, Auburn, Dacula, Grayson, Loganville, Snellville and parts of Lawrenceville.

District 1 Commissioner Kirkland Carden was sworn in Monday, and Chairwoman-elect Nicole Love Hendrickson will take the oath of office Dec. 28. All three ceremonies are taking place at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center with COVID-19 precautions in place.

“As I come on board, one of our main tasks will be to support the community through our recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic while we continue to provide services that meet the Gwinnett Standard,” Watkins said. “I’m also excited to get to work on enhancing Gwinnett’s infrastructure, strengthening economic development and improving public safety.”

Watkins, a retired lieutenant colonel in the Army, is the principal/consultant for Watty Consultant, LLC, and senior account executive for the Group Purchasing Organization, Minnesota Multistate Contracting Alliance for Pharmacy Infuse. He served 25 years as an Army pharmacist, five years as chief of the Bureau for Statewide Pharmaceutical Services for the Florida Department of Health and two years with the Atlanta Veterans Administration Medical Center’s pharmacy.

While in the service, Watkins received the Legion of Merit, the highest peacetime military award, along with the Award of Excellence in Allied Health Care, the Order of Military Medical Merit and many other military decorations and honors. Watkins moved to Gwinnett County in 2006 and lives in Grayson. He is a graduate of the Gwinnett 101 Citizen Academy, served as president of the Northforke Plantation Homeowners Association and is a member of several boards and scientific associations.

The Board of Commissioners sets direction and formulates policies for the county government, authorizes expenditures and approves or disapproves specific actions, such as rezoning of private property. At the first regular commission meeting of 2021 on Jan. 5, the board will consider adopting the 2021 budget.

Voters in each of four districts elect a part-time district commissioner. The full-time commission chair is elected countywide. Their four-year terms are staggered so the chairman and two commissioners are elected during one election cycle. Returning commissioners Ben Ku in District 2 and Marlene Fosque in District 4 round out the five-member board.

Back to previous page