Skip to content

Airport Authority

The Airport Authority was established in 1971 by local legislation.  The Authority consists of five members with four members to be appointed from each of the four respective commission districts and one to be appointed by the Chairman. A quorum is three members and a majority vote shall be necessary for action.

  • Members serve a four-year term and run concurrent with the term of their appointing Commissioner
  • The Authority shall advertise in the legal organ for at least once a week for three weeks immediately preceding the week in which the term of office of any member term expires
  • The Authority shall advertise in the legal organ for at least once a week for two weeks immediately following the week in which a vacancy occurs (resignation, death, etc.)
  • Members are not compensated, but will be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties


The authority shall establish the date, time, and place for all regular meetings, notice of which shall be published in the legal organ of Gwinnett County.  The yearly calendar is approved at the January meeting, and is published in the legal organ for the year in its entirety after approval.

Meetings are generally held the second Thursday of each month at 6:00pm at the Gwinnett County Airport Administration Building, 600 Briscoe Boulevard, Lawrenceville, GA 30046.

View Notices, Agendas, and Minutes.


Members are required to live in the district that they represent.

Responsibilities / Powers

Responsibilities/Powers are listed in detail in Municipal Code. All such powers are limited by Management Agreements with Gwinnett County.

Active Members

Appointed By Position Name Representing Term Expires
Chairman's Appointment Vice Chairperson Eric "Tip" Cape 12/31/2020
District 1 Appointment Mark Grams 12/31/2020
District 2 Appointment Chairperson Mary Jane Polizzotto 12/31/2018
District 3 Appointment Secretary Glenn Sikes 12/31/2020
District 4 Appointment Buddy Corley 12/31/2018